Walter van Schalkwijk, PhD

Dr. van Schalkwijk has over 30 years experience in the battery industry in research, product development, manufacturing, battery electronics, and applications engineering. Some of the highlights of his career:

  • Published "Advanced Lithium Batteries" with Bruno Scroasti, K.M. Abraham, and Jusef Hassoun, 2013, Wiley
  • Published "Advances in Lithium-Ion Batteries" with Bruno Scrosati, 2002, Springer
  • Preparing "Battery Testing: Methods and Applications"
  • Managed research and technology transfer from fundamental research to prototype development of new battery products based on Lithium-ion technology
  • Co-inventor of new charge algorithms for fast battery charge of Lithium-ion batteries
  • Developed architectures for hybrid systems for portable applications
  • Principal Scientist in a DOE/EPRI sponsored research and development program on Zinc/Bromine batteries
  • Developed Li/SO2 rechargeable batteries and very large Li/SOCl2 batteries
  • Clinical Electrochemistry: Developed new formulations for kidney dialysate (patented and FDA approved)

​​He has expertise in most aspects of battery technology and applications including theoretical principles, manufacturing methods, performance and limitations, charge methods, monitoring and control, battery testing, packaging, application engineering, economics, and in the development of requirements and specifications.

This combined expertise has been used to perform technology due diligence on several new battery, capacitor, and fuel cell companies, expert opinions for product and patent litigation, safety engineering for battery plants (manufacturing and use of batteries) and employee training.

​(c) 2003 - 2015

Dr. van Schalkwijk is a graduate of the Lowell Technological Institute (now called the University of Massachusetts at Lowell) and holds a Ph.D. in Electrochemistry from the University of Ottawa, Canada.

He is a member of the American Chemical Society (ACS)

He is a member of the Electrochemical Society (ECS)

  • Board of Directors, 1999 - 2003
  • Chairman of New Technology Committee, 1999 - 2003
  • Chairman of Nanotechnology Committee, 2003 - 2008
  • Executive Committee of the Battery Division, 2002 - 2004
  • Winner of ECS Battery Division Student Research Award, 1981

In 2001 he was appointed as an Affiliate (aka adjunct) Professor of Chemical Engineering at the University of Washington